The Happiness Project

Cover of "The Happiness Project: Or, Why ...

Cover via Amazon

Have you ever started reading the exact right book at the exact right time? That’s what is happening to me right now. The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin is feeding my soul right now! Okay, that sounds a little dramatic. Let me say it this way – I feel like this woman crawled up inside of my head and took the time to write out my thoughts. Not only did she write out my thoughts, but she’s experimenting with different ways to deal with and respond to those thoughts. She’s done all the work for me.

Don’t misunderstand the title or the intention of the book. I’m not saying I need a “project” to make me happy and neither does the author. This book is written for everyone who silently whispered in their head, “is this it?” Never daring to say it out loud for fear of jinxing what they have, which is absolutely perfect.

Here’s the thing…okay, here’s the thing for me. I’m 37, married for 13 years, 2 kids, a great job, a beautiful home, etc, etc. But there’s this tiny whisper in the back of my head that will ask if I’m doing what I’m “supposed to be” doing. I’ve read tons of articles, blogs, and books about people who found their calling and make a living doing what they love. Until someone can pay me for finding cool shit on pinterest, I’m not sure what my “hidden talent” is much less what my purpose in life is.

It isn’t just about discovering your purpose in life, though. It’s about the things you are good at and the things you aren’t. It’s also about the things you focus on that you really don’t care about, which takes focus away from the things you do.

I’m only a few chapters into this book and I’m completely hooked. This author is so inside my head I want to read this book and then re-read it and take notes. I want to see what I can apply to my life to make it better. To make ME better. Yeah, I’m a nerd like that.

So who else has read this book? Did it have an impact on you? Did you make any long term changes as a result?

6 thoughts on “The Happiness Project

  1. I’ve heard good things about that book from more than one blogger now. I was going to put it on hold in the library, but after reading your post, I’m thinking I should just buy it so I can mark it up and dog-ear the pages, something I tend to do in nonfiction books.

    • I would highly recommend buying the book. I got mine from the library and found myself wishing I owned it instead so I could mark it up, just like you said. I’m pretty sure I’ll own this book before long. :)

      • That’s what I did with Susan Cain’s “Quiet,” her book about introversion. I waited forever to get a copy from the library, but once I started reading it, I knew I needed my own, so I promptly went to the bookstore and bought it. Good thing, too, considering how much I marked it up. :)

  2. I felt exactly the same way when reading this book! And it inspired me to start my own happiness project, too – it’s been about two weeks and I think all this focus on happiness has helped me deal with sources of unhappiness in my life.

    When you finish the book, if you start your own project, I’d love to read about it!

    • Laura, thank you so much. I actually finished it up yesterday. And went promptly to amazon.com and ordered my own copy (the one I had was from the library). I plan to re-read it cover to cover taking serious notes and definitely starting my own Happiness Project. I will update it here. :)

Leave a Reply

