Not Yo Momma’s Depression

I contacted Alise Write a few months ago to ask her permission to post a huh-larious blog about her experience with the C25K program on my facebook page. I’ve been stalking following her ever since. On a whim, I sent her a piece I had written that had nothing to do with fitness, at least not the physical kind. She was kind enough to not only read it, but publish it on her blog. I am honored to be featured by a writer I admire and humbled by the responses it received both publicly and privately. I’ve been reminded it’s okay not to be perfect.

People like to wrap depression up in a neat, tidy little box. Inside the box are sadness, tears, and perhaps some suicidal thoughts. But there’s nothing neat or tidy about depression. It comes in many shapes, forms, and sizes. It can be something you just “have” or something that is brought on by an event or series of events. There are many different faces of depression. This is mine.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Not Yo Momma’s Depression

  1. Chrystal, this piece of yours really hit me. I suffer from depression too, but mine starts from a place of sadness and no optimism (“what’s the point of anything?”) and then morphs into the type of anger you describe. I wish we could find the switch for whatever chemical changes are occurring in our brains but, sadly, this doesn’t seem possible. Bravo to you for writing this brave, honest piece.

    • Gillian, I’m so sorry you have to visit this “place” too. It’s definitely no fun. I appreciate you sharing that with me. And thank you so much for your kind comments. They really mean a lot.

Leave a Reply

