Where’s the Mop?

Mops

Mops (Photo credit: alxndr)

My husband has talked about starting his own business for years. Today, he finally made the leap and submitted his resignation at his J.O.B. This is both exciting and terrifying. We have depended on salaries from someone else our entire lives. On the other hand, I know it will be a success. Period. He’s good at what he does and we make great partners. We WILL run a successful business. It’s just that first couple of months waiting for money to come in that’s got me feeling a little pukey.

So, of course we took a look at the non-essential things to see where we might cut back just a little. The first thing to go was our cleaning lady. We’ve had someone come in twice a month and do cleaning for us. This is a luxury that we have been absolutely blessed to have. It was relatively inexpensive and was something that did fit in our budget. However, it just didn’t seem right to have someone come in cleaning for us when we weren’t sure when he would be paid next.

I pulled up my big girl panties, downloaded a cool home organization app, and got to work. Yesterday one of my chores on the app was “mop kitchen floor”. I hate mopping. I don’t just dislike mopping – I absolute HATE it. I would rather do any other chore in the house. But, starting our own business means we’re all making sacrifices and much to my dismay that includes mopping.

I went out to the garage where I seem to remember having seen some cleaning supplies and started looking for the mop. There wasn’t one, although I did see a ratty looking broom. I asked the hubby, “hey, where’s our mop?” Um, apparently we don’t have one anymore. I had to laugh at how utterly ridiculous that was. Now trust me, we aren’t some fancy pants rich family. I’m not sitting here dripping in diamonds calling people “dahling”. We just made sacrifices in other areas (less shoes means I don’t have to mop? yes, please!) so we could afford someone to clean because we are so stinkin’ busy. Hmmm…I wonder what other silly surprises the future holds?

4 thoughts on “Where’s the Mop?

  1. Congratulations on your new venture! As someone who has made a life transition, I understand how scary yet exhilirating it can be. I wish you the best of luck.

    Will you still post on the other blog or just this one?

Leave a Reply

