Organizing – Like a BOSS!

photo credit: about.com

photo credit: about.com

I’ve recently written about how my husband has quit his job to start his own company. I am crazy excited about this new venture and the possibilities it will offer our family. I also grew up poor and anything that threatens to change our income throws me into panic mode. Even when it’s something awesome that will be totally worth it.

When I say poor, I’m talking government cheese poor. (My parents were young teenagers. My Dad is now a successful business owner.) No matter how bad things got, we always had a sparkling house. You could literally eat off the floors. I never learned to cook when I lived at home because my mom thought it would make too big of a mess. A clean house seemed to be her life’s purpose.

Mine…well, I like shit picked up. I do love a clean house, don’t get me wrong. But typically I’m not going to panic over a little grime in the corner of the baseboards. As long as everything is in its place and the floors are clean, I’m golden. That was, until this whole new company thing. Now I can’t stop cleaning.

I think I’m nesting. I’ve been reading home management blogs like it’s my job. I find myself drooling over organized cabinets and pantries. Did you know there are actually tons of blogs and etsy sites dedicated to home management binders/notebooks. I had never even been to etsy.com before! There are free printables, how-to guides, cleaning schedules, budget work sheets, home maintenance schedules…gosh, it’s endless. And I couldn’t.stop.reading.them!

I think it’s the whole control issue. I can’t control how this new business goes, but I can control how freakishly clean my house is. I’ve organized my kitchen cabinets and my junk drawers. I washed the walls in my bathroom (the freaking WALLS!). I hand scrubbed the bathroom floor. I’m telling you right now, we’ll be able to eat off the floors even if we can’t afford groceries.

I like the sense of control. Our chaotic life hasn’t slowed one bit. In fact, my husband is still finishing up his last two weeks of work, so our finances haven’t even changed. But, I like the control.

What do you do to gain back your sense of control?

4 thoughts on “Organizing – Like a BOSS!

  1. I’m totally with you on the organizing, management, etc. I am TOTALLY with you. All those free printables, binders, etc? They make me incredibly happy and find myself printing out new ones every week! Best of luck on the new business as well! And when I need to feel “in control”? I clean. And purge (items, not food). 🙂

  2. YES! When things seem to be crumbling around me, you’ll find me in a corner on hands and knees with a toothbrush scrubbing the corners of the baseboards! I’d like to think I’m not so crazed on a daily basis but organizing, cleaning – it’s definitely a coping mechanism for feeling better in control. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

