The Days Are Long But the Years Are Short

My oldest daughter, Claire, turned 11 yesterday. While that seems almost impossible to believe, it’s hard for me to remember life before her.

On the other hand, I look at her and I almost don’t recognize the person looking back at me. It’s like she woke up one day and was this young woman who I sometimes think is smarter than me. (Dude, I definitely don’t feel  smarter than a 5th grader some days.) I hug her and her body almost feels foreign to me. She was a petite baby and was able to easily fit into my arms. Now I hug her and it’s as if I’m hugging one of my girlfriends. She’s almost as tall as me and she has an incredibly muscular back from swimming. What happened to the squishy little toddler I could throw up in the air effortlessly? Okay, almost effortlessly. She may have slipped through my hands once.

She is both frustrating (she knows everything) and inspiring (she goes to swim practice 4-5 days a week). She is stubborn just like me. She is opinionated just like me. And she’s so freaking smart. Just like… 🙂

I feel like I went to sleep with a little girl and woke up and with this little woman in my house instead. How does this happen? Every person we spoke to when we were pregnant said, “it goes by SO fast”. Whatever. That’s what old people say. Well, I must be old because I can tell you that it has flown by.

I am honored that she seems to have turned out fantastically despite it being our first attempt at making a person. And I am reminded each day to live in the moment because we won’t get them back.

Happy Birthday, Claire!

4 thoughts on “The Days Are Long But the Years Are Short

  1. Sweet yet bittersweet. My oldest is 8, and I already feel it going by too fast. Especially when I see those old chubby baby photos. How true that the days can feel so long, but the years are incredibly short.

Leave a Reply

