The Way You Do One Thing Is The Way You Do Everything

English: Day Planner / Calendar screenshot

English: Day Planner / Calendar screenshot (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“The way you do one thing is the way you do everything.” This was something that was said at a business seminar I went to a few weeks ago. The more I think about that statement, the more true it becomes.

I’m a researcher. I love researching topics. I love looking into the “best way” of doing things. I love setting up programs, projects, spreadsheets, etc. Nerdy? Yes! But it brings me great joy. Hey, I can’t help how I’m wired.

For example, I spent weeks researching the best productivity tools. I discovered that I had begun procrastinating more than normal and I thought if I could just get organized, it would make all the difference. I tried out several. I used wunderlist for a while. It has a beautiful interface and my only complaint was it didn’t have repeating tasks. That was okay, though. I worked with it. I was productive.

That wasn’t good enough though. In researching I had come across so many other tools, what if there was something better? I’m now certain I have usernames and virtually every online task management site that is available. Some I knew right away weren’t for me.

I felt like I hit the mother load when I started using toodledo. The reviews were fantastic on this one, but it said it was definitely a difficult tool to learn. HA! Challenge accepted. I mastered that sucker within a few days. I used it for a couple of months. It is a really great tool. If I were using an online task manager, THAT would be the one I use.

But, here’s what I discovered – I actually had more fun setting them up and learning how to use these systems effectively than I did in utilizing them. Once I’ve mastered it, it’s no fun anymore. Guess what I use now? My FranklinCovey that I’ve been using off and on since 1998. Yep. Pencil and paper.

If I’m honest with myself, I do the same with work outs. (The way you do one thing is the way you do everything.) I can spend hours researching the best workouts. I take great pride in this research and I can put together one hell of a work out. Actually doing the work out? Well, it’s just not as fun as doing all the prep work.

Oh, who am I kidding? This isn’t limited to task management and working out. This applies to pretty much everything I do. I’m a planner, coordinator, organizer. Once it’s time to take action, I get bored. I’m ready to start something new. Learn something new. Create something new.

The good news is, it’s important to know our strengths and weaknesses. We can’t compensate for our weaknesses unless we know what they are. The bad news…well Yoda said it best. “Knowing is not enough; we must apply.” Damn you, Yoda!

One thought on “The Way You Do One Thing Is The Way You Do Everything

  1. “The way you do one thing is the way you do everything.”—I think that’s so true. As my annoying perfectionistic tendencies attest. But I’ve gotten better in my old age. 🙂

Leave a Reply

